ABOUT the Archdiocese of Atlanta

The Archdiocese of Atlanta was created on February 21, 1962, from the Diocese of Atlanta which was established on July 2, 1956.

The archdiocese encompasses 21,445 square miles in north Georgia. It includes the 69 counties north of and including the following counties: Lincoln, McDuffie, Warren, Hancock, Baldwin, Putnam, Jasper, Monroe, Upson, Meriwether and Troup.

The Most Reverend Wilton D. Gregory, S.L.D. is the Archbishop of Atlanta.

North Georgia Counties

Mission Statement

We, the faithful of the Archdiocese of Atlanta, are a people of prayer, love and joy who are dedicated to the salvation of all. As disciples and believers in our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ, we proclaim the good news and grow in faith, hope, love and service to others. We are unified in our commitment to sacramental life, pastoral care and life-long formation in our Roman Catholic faith. We express our love through evangelization, fellowship, Catholic education, social services and charity in the full pursuit of effective discipleship.

The Archdiocese Today

The Archdiocese of Atlanta continues to flourish today. Since the beginning of Archbishop Gregory’s tenure, eight additional parishes and five missions have been organized, resulting in 102 parishes and missions (including one station and a basilica). The Catholic population of the Archdiocese has risen to over 1,000,000. The oldest operating parish in the archdiocese, originally established as a mission in 1845, is Saint Joseph in Washington, Georgia.  The oldest Catholic church still standing is The Shrine of the Immaculate Conception in Atlanta, Georgia, which was completed in 1872.

In 2017, His Holiness, Pope Francis, named the Most Reverend Bernard E. Shlesinger III as Auxiliary Bishop of the Archdiocese of Atlanta.

The Province of Atlanta

When the Diocese of Atlanta became the Archdiocese of Atlanta on February 21, 1962, the ecclesiastical Province of Atlanta came into being as well. The Archbishop of Atlanta thus holds the ex officio title of Metropolitan of the Province of Atlanta.

Dioceses of the Province (Provincial Sees):

Ecclesiastical Provinces

The largest territorial division of the Latin Church, an ecclesiastical province is an administrative district comprising several dioceses. It is united under the presidency of an archbishop or metropolitan who holds this position as a result of the recognition of his diocesan see as the metropolitan see (an archdiocese). The other sees are called suffragan or subordinate sees, each governed by its respective bishop. An ecclesiastical province answers directly to the Holy See.

Contact Us

Please send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Start typing and press Enter to search